Inside the Department of Comparative Biosciences

Inside the Department of Comparative Biosciences

Entering content area for Inside the Department of Comparative Biosciences

blog posts

  • MD/PhD Student Maggie Blattner Completes her PhD in the Mahoney Lab

    Maggie BlattnerMaggie Blattner completed her PhD in the Neuroscience Program under Comparative Biosciences faculty member Dr. Megan Mahoney. Maggie is now  enrolled as  2nd year medical student as part of the Medical Scholars Program at the College of Medicine.  Maggie's research was highlighted via her award by the Society for Women's Health Research, as described in the press release below earlier this year:

    WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 28, 2012) – The Society for Women’s Health Research (SWHR) is proud to announce the Donald G. and Darel Stein Fellowship winners. This fellowship promotes the study of sex differences in neuroscience by affording four students the opportunity to attend and present a poster on neuroscience and sex differences at a scientific meeting. The four winners are: Allison Anacker, Oregon Health & Sciences University, will present “Neuropeptide levels associated with sex differences in the effect of alcohol on social bonding behavior” at the Society for Neuroscience meeting.
    Margaret Blattner, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will present “Sex differences in circadian rhythm parameters in transgenic mice with altered responsiveness to estrogen at estrogen receptor subtype 1” at the Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology meeting.
    Shannon Blume, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, will present “Neuronal activity in the female basolateral amygdala and the impact of chronic stress” at the Society for Neuroscience meeting.
    Jessica Bolton, Duke University, will present “Sexually dimorphic placental responses to maternal air pollutant exposure: the root of sex differences in behavioral and metabolic outcomes of adult offspring” at the Society for Neuroscience meeting.
    “Darel and I are delighted to be able to support this fellowship program,” said Donald Stein, fellowship sponsor. “It was extremely generous and farsighted for SWHR to give awards to young investigators to attend any major national meeting they chose. This is a very unique way to help support research on sex differences and women’s health, and we congratulate the winners and SWHR for this novel use of the fellowship award."
    The four fellows will receive a $1000 reimbursement for travel, hotel, food, and registration and other expenses associated with their chosen scientific meeting in 2012.
    “SWHR is proud to award the Donald G. and Darel Stein Fellowship to these deserving young scientists for their work in advancing sex differences research in neuroscience,” said Phyllis Greenberger, MSW, President and CEO of SWHR.
    SWHR congratulates the four winners on this achievement.