Prairie Research Institute - All Events
Back to Listing

Sustainable Seminar Series - 2013 International Sustainable Electronics Competition Awards Presentation

Event Type
Illinois Sustainable Technology Center
Illinois Sustainable Technology Center, One E. Hazelwood Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
Dec 5, 2013   12:00 - 1:00 pm  
Joy Scrogum, M.S. - Sustainable Electronics Initiative Co-Coordinator; and Nancy Holm, M.S. - Sustainable Electronics Initiative Co-Coordinator both from Illinois Sustainable Technology Center
to watch online
Originating Calendar
Illinois Sustainable Technology Center seminars and events

For ISTC's 2013 International Sustainable Electronics Competition (formerly the International E-waste Design Competition), students and recent graduates from around the world were invited to submit ideas by Nov. 1, 2013, for preventing the generation of e-waste or for the reuse of e-waste in new and useful products. As part of their entry, individuals or teams created YouTube videos highlighting their ideas. Jurors from industry, academia, and non-profit organizations judged the entries in two categories (Product and Non-Product) with a variety of criteria that incorporate the ideas of reuse and prevention throughout (see for more information). The event grew out of a local competition associated with an e-waste course taught by UI Professor William Bullock in 2009. In 2010, the competition went international, and there have been entries from a number of countries worldwide. The webinar will feature discussion of the competition, videos of this year's winning entries, and an announcement of awards.

This seminar will be broadcast live and also archived on our website for later viewing. If you cannot attend the event at ISTC, you may register to view the webinar live.

link for robots only

615 E. Peabody Drive, MC-650
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: 217-333-5111
Fax: 217-244-1542

        Terms of use         Privacy statement         Login

Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.
© 2016 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Prairie Research Institute.