Illinois Directory

Illinois Directory

search    >>    detail

To edit this profile, click the pencil icon above.

Unit CCO contacts for this profile are: For more information see "where to edit information".
Login to search for students
image for Phyllis M Wise

Phyllis M Wise

Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Professor, Animal Sciences
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
434 Burrill Hall
407 South Goodwin Avenue
M/C 114
Urbana, IL  61801


  • Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Birmingham (England), 2015
  • Honorary Doctor of Science, Swarthmore College, 2008
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Michigan, 1972-1974
  • Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1972
  • M.A. University of Michigan, 1969
  • B.A. Swarthmore College, 1967

Leadership Positions

  • Chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2011-2015
  • Interim President, University of Washington, 2010-2011
  • Provost and Executive Vice President, University of Washington, 2007-2010
  • Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Washington, 2005-2007
  • Dean of the Division of Biological Sciences, University of California Davis, 2002-2005

show listHonors and Awards

  • Fellow of the American Physiological Society (2015)
  • Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2013)
  • Asian Pacific Island Americans in Higher Education Award for Leadership (2012)
  • Chang-Lin Tien Award for Educational Leadership (2011)
  • Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology Service Award (2009)
  • Member of the National Academy of Medicine (2008)
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2008)
  • Member of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Science (2008)
  • Women of Influence Award, Puget Sound Business Journal (2008)
  • Roy O. Greep Award for Excellence in Endocrine Research (2004)
  • Women in Endocrinology Mentor Award (2003)
  • FASEB Excellence in Science Award (2002)
  • National Institutes of Health, MERIT Award (2001-2010)
  • Albert D. and Elizabeth H. Kirwan Memorial Prize (2000)
  • Robert W. Kleemeier Award, Gerontological Society of America (1999)
  • Solomon Berson Award, American Physiological Society (1998)
  • Burroughs-Wellcome Professorship (1997)
  • Presidential Speaker, Society of Neuroscience (1997)
  • Nathan W. Shock Award for outstanding research in aging (1991)
  • National Institutes of Health, MERIT Award (1986-1996)
  • National Institutes of Health, Research Career Development Award (1982-1987)
  • Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship (1972-1974)

Additional Resources