npre header
Congratulations, Graduates!
NPRE welcomes new alumni
Many of NPRE's newest alumni gathered for a graduation reception. 

NPRE welcomes 42 new alumni with graduations in the Academic Year 2014-2015. Thirty students earned bachelor's degrees, six earned master's and six earned PhD's.

Many of the new alumni will start their careers with employers including Exelon Corp., Enercon, Accenture, Boeing, Applied Materials, Intel and IBM. Others plan to continue their studies through graduate school in NPRE, and at other universities including the University of California-Berkeley, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and others. View graduation number trends.

Alumni Honors
Knief, McVey recognized for work on behalf of nuclear industry, NPRE
Alumni award winners Ron Knief and Ed McVey 

Dr. Ronald A. Knief, a Nuclear Criticality Safety Engineer and Principal Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories, has been selected as the 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award winner for Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering at Illinois. Read more.

Frequently on campus working with students interested in the nuclear power industry and, particularly, Exelon Corporation, alumnus Edward A. McVey is the 2015 winner of the NPRE Advocate Award. Read more.

Faculty Impact
NPRE faculty recognized for edcuation, research advances
Rizwan Uddin, Tomasz Kozlowski, Zahra Mohaghegh and Davide Curreli 

The American Society for Engineering Education has chosen Prof. Rizwan Uddin for the 2015 Glenn Murphy Award, recognizing his strong and enduring commitment to advancing the quality and impact of education in nuclear engineering, and for his ability to fully engage students in learning through innovative teaching styles and techniques. Read more.

Assistant Prof. Tomasz Kozlowski has garnered the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award for his work in developing advanced computational tools and for providing training on an international scale to the next generation of users of these methods and codes. Read more.

The Engineering at Illinois Dean's Award for Excellence in Research has been presented to Assistant Prof. Zahra Mohaghegh for her work in risk analysis and assessment. Read more.

Assistant Prof. Davide Curreli has been named a Faculty Fellow of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications to support his high-performance computing project involving plasma-material interactions and nanostructuring. Read more.

Student Projects Recognized
Students' work in virtual technology, plasma techniques, gain kudos
NPRE student Justin Joseph demonstrates the Oculus Rift for visitor Jill McVey. 

NPRE students Justin Joseph, Cory Scribner and Shanna Bobbins gained the Best Undergraduate Poster Award at the 2015 American Nuclear Society (ANS) Student Conference for work on the Oculus Rift, a pair of 3D virtual goggles that allows wearers to immerse themselves in virtual reality. The equipment is used to heighten the experience of nuclear reactor virtual models developed in Prof. Rizwan Uddin's Virtual Education and Research Laboratory (VERL). Read more.

The team of NPRE students Jake McLain, Eric Gillum, Ian Haehnlein, Jan Uhlig and Aveek Kapat won the Daniel F. Hang Outstanding Senior Design Award for developing a plasma technique that enables a portable metal coating process in atmostpheric conditions. Read more.


Serving Our Students
Teacher and staff of the year honored; advising excellence noted
Clair Sullivan works with students in her detector class. 

Assistant Prof. Clair J. Sullivan is the 2015 winner of the American Nuclear Society student chapter’s Teacher of the Year Award, and staff newcomer Rodney D. Siders has garnered the first-ever ANS chapter’s Staff of the Year award.

The 2015 Engineering Council Awards for Excellence in Advising have gone to Sullivan and Assistant Prof. Tomasz Kozlowski. Read more.

Recognizing Excellence
NPRE student awards presented in Honors Banquet
Department Head Jim Stubbins presents awards to Jonathan Rolland and April Novak. 

Over 90 students were recognized during the 2015 NPRE & ANS Honors Banquet.

Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards, presented to graduating students with the highest cumulative grade point averages, were given to Louis J. Chapdelaine, Jonathan Rolland and April Novak. Read more.