College of Media | News

Advertising students named finalists in AAF minority students program

12/8/2010  4:30 pm

The Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising is proud to announce that six advertising students were named finalists in the 2011 American Advertising Federations' Most Promising Minority Students Program (MPMSP), and three advertising students were named to the AAF’s MPMSP  Honor Roll.

Steve Hall, advertising lecturer and faculty adviser for AAF, is proud of his students. "We have 6 winners this year, more than any other school out of the 50 winners."

The AAF's Most Promising Minority Students program connects the advertising industry with the nation’s top minority college seniors. In its 15th year, the program continues to provide opportunities to recruit fresh talent, to further prepare advertising’s best young prospects and to help the industry's workforce better reflect the multiculturalism of today's society. The program seeks toenhance students' knowledge and understanding of the advertising industry by offering networking, interviewing and industry immersion opportunities with industry professionals.

The finalists will be acknowledged for their accomplishments on Feb. 1-3, 2011, at the New York Athletic Club in New York City. Honor Roll students are invited to attend all of the activities that will be held in New York as part of the Most Promising Minority Students Program. The main highlight of the program is the Building Bridges for Our Future Awards Luncheon, which will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 2 at the New York Athletic Club.

AAF’s Most Promising Minority Students Program Finalists:

  • Rebekah Andrews
  • Lauren Cheng
  • Brittany Herdman
  • Jason Houze
  • Zai-yu Elisia Phua
  • Dora Ulysse

AAF’s Most Promising Minority Students Program - Honor Roll:

  • Mariza Baeza
  • Kshipra Datar
  • Dominique Robinson