College of Media | News

Society of Professional Journalists honors journalism students

3/18/2011  3:30 pm

Congratulations to the several Journalism students who have been awarded 2010-11 Region 5 Mark of Excellence Awards by the Society of Professional Journalists. The awards will be presented during the Mark of Excellence Luncheon at the upcoming Society of Professional Journalists Spring Conference, April 1-2 at the The METS Center in Erlanger, Kentucky.

  • Laura Hettiger, Television Sports Reporting-4 Year College/University, “Jefferson Family Football”
  • UI-7 News Staff, Best All-Around Television Newscast-4 Year College/University
  • Matt Mershon, Radio News Reporting-4 Year College/University, “Peotone Airport”
  • Staff, Online News Reporting-4 Year College/University,
  • The Daily Illini Staff, Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper- 4 Year College/University
  • Ned Mulka, Feature Photography-4 Year College/University, The Daily Illini