College of Media | News

Faculty to win top honors and present papers at AEJMC annual conference in August

7/12/2011  11:15 am

Faculty members from the College of Media are headed to St. Louis in August to attend the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) annual conference. Several professors and graduate students are presenting papers, and a few are being honored with awards.

  • Katie Abrams, assistant professor of advertising, will present her paper "Loss Aversion and Regulatory Focus Effects in the Absence of Numbers: Qualitatively Framing Equivalent Messages on Food Labels" for the panel titled, "ComSHER, International Communication, Communication Technology and Communication Theory and Methodology Divisions."
  • Brittany Duff, assistant professor of advertising, will be honored with the top prize in the Advertising division of the Top Research and Student Papers for her paper, "Seeing the Big Picture: Multitasking and Memory for the Ad." Her co-authors Sela Sar, Iowa State; Sangdo Oh, Illinois-Urbana Champaign; Yulia Lutchyn, Tennessee; and Sydney Chinchanachokchai, Illinois, will also be honored. In addition, she and co-author Sela Sar, Iowa State, will be honored with another prize for a Scholar-to-Scholar Refereed Paper in the Multitasking, Processing, and Individuals topic for their paper "Exploring the Effects of Mood and Culture on Cognitive Thinking Styles."
  • Matt Ehrlich, professor of journalism, will present "Thinking about Journalism with Superman" on the panel titled "Journalism from the Edges of Myth to the Borders of Self-Selected Fantasy."
  • Chang Dae Ham, assistant professor of advertising, will be honored with second prize in the Advertising division of the Top Research and Student Papers for his paper, "Responses to User-Generated Brand Videos: The Persuasion Inference Model." His co-author Esther Thorson, University of Missouri, will also be honored. 
  • Steven Helle, professor of journalism, will participate in a panel titled "Everything You Need to Know about Teaching Media Law." Helle's presentatio, "Blogging and the First Amendment," relates to his success in using blogging to teach First Amendment principles. He received the first place award for his course on blogging in the 2009 teaching competition of the Law Division of AEJMC.
  • Brian Johnson, professor of journalism, will present his paper "Diversity & Sustainability: The Not-So-Odd Couple" in the "Great Ideas for Teachers" session.
  • Steve Jones, communications professor, and Ishani Mukherjee, UIC doctoral student, will be receiving the 2011 Clifford G. Christians Ethics Research Award.
  • Eric Meyer, associate professor of journalism, will be honored with a Best of the Web award for his and his students work on the online journalism project.
  • Michelle Nelson, associate professor of advertising, will present "Strategic Solutions at the Intersection of Content and Channel, 'Media Class: Changing Channels,'" at the Pre-Conference Teaching Workshop. She and co-author and ICR student Sang do Oh and M.S. Advertising alumnus Jiwoo Park have also submitted a paper titled "Consumer Knowledge of News Making: How Increased Persuasion Knowledge of Video News Releases Influences Beliefs and Trust in a News Story" for the referreed research poster session in the public relations division.
  • Jay Rosenstein, associate professor of journalism, will present "Documentary Courage: Asking the Tough Questions" as part of the panel titled, "Soul In Service of Souls, Documentary Today."

AEJMC conferences are regularly attended by journalism and mass communication administrators, educators, and researchers; well-known authors and publishers of communication texts; companies and organizations tracking emerging trends in higher education; social media professionals and internet and technology professionals; and practitioners.