College of Media | News

Current and former Journalism students win state honors

9/15/2011  2:45 pm

University of Illinois broadcast journalism alumni and current students won seven Student Silver Dome Awards at the Illinois Broadcasters Association's university conference (IBA-U) in Chicago. 

• Samantha Singer ’11 JOURN, the Champaign bureau reporter at WAND-TV, won First Place for Best TV Weathercast.

• Pete Zervakis ’11 JOURN, a multimedia journalist at WXOW-TV in La Cross, Wisconsin, won Third Place for Best TV News Package.

• Chlole Pistorius ’12 JOURN, won First Place and Rachel Caulfield ’12 JOURN won Third Place for Best Radio News Story.

• Heather Pink ’12 JOURN and Spencer Turkin ’12 JOURN tied for First Place for Best Radio Sports Story.

• UI-7 Radio News won Second Place for Best Radio Newscast. 

U of I students competed against those from other Illinois colleges and universities. The awards were announced at a banquet at the annual IBA-U conference, which this year was held for the first time in downtown Chicago.