College of Media | News

Associate Dean Chris Benson honored for his contributions to diversity and inclusion on campus

11/11/2011  3:00 pm

Chris Benson, associate dean of the College of Media and associate professor of Journalism and African American Studies, was honored with the 2011 Larine Y. Cowen Make A Difference Award on Nov 10. The award, presented by the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access, recognizes dedication to promoting diversity and the inclusion of all students on campus. “This is a major campus award and really speaks to the College's commitment on issues of diversity and inclusion, as well as the value of multiple perspectives in our work.  It certainly spotlights Chris’ work that is often behind the scenes.” said Jan Slater, interim dean of the College of Media. “Although you never really think about recognition when you set out to do what you can’t help doing,” Benson said, “It is, indeed, a high honor just to have my name associated with Larine Cowan.  She inspired so much positive change throughout her career and moved me to want to do more—especially through my work in media—to enlighten and transform.”  This is the second year in a row that College of Media leadership has been recognized for its commitment to diversity.  Last year, Professor Emeritus Bill Berry, and former interim head of the Department of Advertising, was honored.