College of Media | News

Celebrating Academic Excellence

2/22/2012  8:00 am



College of Media professors were recognized at a recent event hosted by Chancellor Wise. Celebrating Academic Excellence is an opportunity to recognize faculty who have received honors and awards during the past year.


Leon Dash, Professor of Journalism and of Law, was recognized for his leadership as Director of the Center for Advanced Study. Appointment to a professorship in the Center is one of the highest recognitions that the campus can bestow upon a member of tis faculty.


Jay Rosenstein, Associate Professor of Journalism, was recognized for his documentary film The Lord is not on Trial Here Today. Honors include:

Best of Competition Award from the Broadcast Education Association

  • CINE Golden Eagle Award
  • Emmy, Best Historical Documentary and Best Writing from the Mid-America Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences
  • Gracie Award for Outstanding Documentary from the Alliance for Women in Media
  • George Foster Peabody Award for Television Documentary
  • Silver Gavel Award from the American Bar Association
  • Bronze Telly Award


Named professors and chairs were recognized at the event. These include: 

  • Leon Dash, Professor of Journalism and Law, Swanlund Chair
  • Brant Houston, Professor of Journalism, John S. And James L. Knight Chair in Journalism