College of Media | News

Broadcast Journalism Students win SINBA Awards

4/30/2012  8:00 am

U of I broadcast journalism students won ten awards, including five for first place, in this year's Students in Illinois News Broadcasters Association (SINBA) Awards. The awards were announced Saturday April 28 at the INBA spring conference in Macomb. The honorees are as follows:



News Reporting

Hilary Osborn, University of Illinois-1st

Chloe Pistorius, University of Illinois-2nd


Use of Sound

Jill Disis, University of Illinois - "Coffee Roastery"-1st

Chloe Pistorius, University of Illinois" - "Gas Prices and Boating"-2nd

Hilary Osborn, University of Illinois - "Rockome Gardens"-3rd


Soft Program

University of Illinois - "Illini Drive at 5"-1st (NOTE: This program was produced for WPGU by broadcast majors Spencer Turkin and Max Tane along with LAS major Jacob Bleyer.)



UI-7 Radio News, University of Illinois-1st



Sports Reporting

Heather Pink, University of Illinois-1st


Hard Program

"Honor Flight" - University of Illinois-2nd


Soft Program

"Creative Careers" - University of Illinois-2nd