College of Media | News

Students win awards from SPJ

3/15/2013  8:00 am

University of Illinois journalism students are finalists for several regional news awards from the Society of Professional Journalists.


The students will win Region 5 SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards for their news, feature and sports reporting plus election night coverage. The awards will be presented at the SPJ regional convention in St. Louis on April 27.


U of I students are finalists in the Region 5 “Breaking News” category for two election related entries: I-Elect and for UI-7 News TV election night coverage. Students from several classes combined to produce online and on air coverage of races, results and issues. The I-Elect project was overseen by Professors Nancy Benson and Eric Meyer.  UI-7 News Election coverage was overseen by Journalism lecturers John Paul and Ken Erdey.


Students Jamal Collier and Molly Nagle anchored I-Elect coverage.  I-Elect editors in Chief were Darshan Patel and Emily Siner. Renee Wunderlich and Robert Lowe were anchors for the UI-7 TV News Election Night coverage. TV coverage was produced by Isabel Morales and Crystal Smith.


The UI-7 News team is a finalist for the best collegiate TV newscast award for Region 5 (Illinois, Kentucky and Indiana). This newscast was produced by Nikki Hendry and anchored by Jill Disis and Taylor Smith.


U of I alumni Heather Pink and Stephen Rossi are finalists for SPJ awards in TV sports reporting and TV feature reporting, respectively.