EUI Announcements

Section 1


EUI Spring 2016 Student Conference Award Winners

5/11/2016  8:00 am

Congratulations to our Spring 2016 Student Conference award winners, and to all those participating students who made the conference such a great success! 

Best Oral Presentation – Graduate Student went to Logan Middleton for his “Negotiating Writing, Literacy, and Gestural Language in the Context of Deafness.”

Best Multimedia Presentation – Graduate Student went to Emily Daniel for her “Yarn Crafting for Comfort: A Report on the Serious Leisure of the GSLIS Stitch and Bitch.”

Best Oral Presentation - Undergraduate went to Klariryn Karmazinas, Remy Kaskel, and Hannah Li for their “An Ethnography of Parkland College: Gauging Student Levels of Comfort and Approachability.”

Best Poster Presentation went to Alexandre Lourenco and Oi Lam Fung for their “Factors that Motivate UIUC Engineering Students in Their In-Class Performance.”

The above UIUC award winners receive a $25 gift card to the Illini Union Bookstore; Parkland students receive cash awards in the amount of $25.

Beginning Spring 2015, students who present at the EUI spring student conference are also eligible for the Nancy A. Abelmann Outstanding Presentation award in the amount of $250, as part of Undergraduate Research Week. The award this year is being given to Ashni Gandhi, Jiayi, Li, Xingjian Sun, Junyi Tang, and Mindi Zhang, for their “The History of Chinese Students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign."

We thank the Undergraduate Library Media Commons for their continuing support of our multimedia program, EUI's Executive Committee -- Professors Ellen Moodie and Merinda Hensley (UIUC) and Isabel Scarborough (Parkland), and our Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (formerly CITES Academic Technologies and Digital Media) partners for their ongoing technology and training support.

A very special thanks goes to Noelle Easterday and Chris Holmes-Singh, EUI and Office of Undergraduate Research’s graduate research assistants, for their hard work and support for the conference and our unit and programs more largely.