* Homepage - Illinois News

blog navigation

blog posts

  • Chemistry alumna recognized for groundbreaking career in biotech

    “It was an opportunity to ask questions to which we didn’t know the answers yet,” said Chilton, recipient of the 2016 U of I Alumni Association Achievement Award. 

  • Journalism alumnus lands Edward R. Murrow Award

    Charlie Meyerson has won a 2016 national Edward R. Murrow Award for audio investigative reporting from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

  • Find your local Illini club

    Illini clubs, affinity groups and college groups are a great way to stay connected to the University and your fellow alumni. They offer a variety of social, cultural, educational, community service and networking events. 

  • Two alumni being inducted into National Inventors Hall of Fame

    The late William Sparks (PhD, chemistry, ’36) and  the late Welton Taylor (BA, ’41, MS, ’47, and PhD, ’48, bacteriology) were among 16 inductees recently admitted to the National Inventors Hall of Fame

  • Journalism grad receives Pulitzer Prize

    Leonora LaPeter Anton ’86, of the Tampa Bay Times was awarded a 2016 Pulitzer Prize for investigative reporting. The reporting was a joint project between the Times and the Herald-Tribune into Florida’s state-funded mental hospitals.

  • Alumna Temple Grandin elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

    Grandin is well known for her contributions to animal welfare in agriculture, and for her work as a spokesperson for people with autism. 

  • Tatyana McFadden wins fourth straight Boston Marathon

    American Tatyana McFadden cruised to her fourth straight victory in the women’s wheelchair race at the 2016 Boston Marathon, finishing in a time of 1 hour, 42 minutes, and 16 seconds.

  • Meet the 2016 Chicago Illini of the Year honorees

    Co-sponsored by the University of Illinois Alumni Association and the Chicago Illini Club, this award recognizes the accomplishments of Chicago-area graduates of the University.